The biggest-ever ECA General Assembly closed today with the elections of the candidates to the new ECA Board that will lead the organisation through the next four-year ECA Membership Cycle 2023-27.

Immediately following the election results, the new ECA Board held a constitutive board meeting where the appointments of the ECA Chairman and five Vice-Chairs took place. The new Board is now composed as follows:

Two ECA representatives on the UEFA Executive Committee 

  • Nasser Al-Khelaïfi (Chairman) - Paris Saint-Germain
  • Miguel Ángel Gil Marín – Club Atlético de Madrid

Five ECA representatives on the board of the UEFA / ECA Joint Venture (UCC SA)

  • Fernando Carro - Bayer 04 Leverkusen
  • Dan Friedkin - AS Roma
  • Peter Lawwell (Vice-Chair Subdivision 2) - Celtic FC
  • Dariusz Mioduski (Vice-Chair Subdivision 3) - Legia Warszawa
  • Vinai Venkatesham - Arsenal FC

Seven elected Ordinary Members for ECA Subdivision One:

  • Alessandro Antonello - FC Internazionale Milano
  • Jokin Aperribay- Real Sociedad de Fútbol 
  • Jan-Christian Dreesen (Vice-Chair Subdivision 1) - FC Bayern München
  • Dennis te Kloese - Feyenoord
  • Pablo Longoria - Olympique de Marseille
  • Oliver Mintzlaff - RB Leipzig
  • Ferran Soriano - Manchester City FC

Five elected Ordinary Members for ECA Subdivision Two

  • Tore Bjørseth Berdal – Rosenborg BK
  • Rui Manuel César Costa - SL Benfica
  • Wanja Greuel - BSC Young Boys
  • Ali Y. Koç - Fenerbahçe SK
  • Stephan Reiter - FC Salzburg

Three elected Ordinary Members for ECA Subdivision Three:

  • Niclas Carlnén - Malmö FF
  • Pál Orosz - Ferencvárosi TC
  • Daniel Rommedahl - F.C. Copenhagen

Two elected Ordinary Members for ECA Subdivision Four:

  • Asif Asgarov - Qarabağ FK
  • Aki Riihilahti (Vice-Chair Subdivision 4) – HJK Helsinki

Two elected Ordinary Members for Women’s clubs

  • Michele Kang - Olympique Lyonnais Féminin
  • Martina Pavlová (Vice-Chair Women’s Subdivision) - AC Sparta Praha

The Associated Member elected as the ECA Subdivision One representative is: 

  • Juan Sartori - AS Monaco FC

The Associated Member elected as the ECA Subdivision Two representative is: 

  • Joshua Wander - Royal Standard de Liège

The Associated Member elected as the ECA Subdivision Three representative is: 

  • Raphael Landthaler - FC Viktoria Plzeň

The Associated Member elected as the ECA Subdivision Four representative is: 

  • Kuno Tehva - Nõmme Kalju FC 

Michele Centenaro and Michael Verschueren were appointed as Independent Board Members. The third Independent Board Member will be announced in due course. The four female Diversity Champions from the four Subdivisions will also be appointed in due course.

The first board meeting of the new ECA Board will take place in Warsaw, Poland on 27-28 September.

Closing the second plenary session today ECA Chairman Nasser Al-Khelaïfi said:We have come such a long way over the past cycle. There has been an enormous shift in the role clubs play in the decisions that shape European club football. Today, we are a dynamic, democratic, and inclusive institution – seeking influence and a voice for the many, not the few.

“We are a community of clubs of all sizes and people of all backgrounds with a common purpose – to grow and protect the European game for all clubs in Europe, working in partnership with all our stakeholders.”

To learn more about ECA's recent Governance Reforms, watch the below video.