ECA Media Release

Representatives from 167 member clubs attended the European Club Association's (ECA) 11th General Assembly in Geneva.

New ECA Membership Cycle - 214 member clubs

ECA is pleased to announce that 19 new clubs have joined the organisation, which brings the total membership to 214 clubs (105 ordinary and 109 associated members) for the beginning of the new ECA membership cycle 2013-15. The new members are as follows:

Xäzär Länkäran FK (AZE), Athletic Club (ESP), Real Sociedad (ESP), TPS Turku (FIN), FC Inter Turku (FIN), Atromitos FC (GRE), Budapest Honvéd FC (HUN), Videoton FC (HUN), Shamrock Rovers FC (IRE), KR Reykjavík (ISL), Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR), Udinese Calcio (ITA), FC Irtysh Pavlodar (KAZ), FC Shakter Karaganda (KAZ), Crusaders FC (NIR), Molde FK (NOR), FC Vaslui (ROM), Motherwell FC (SCO), NK Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN).

Executive Board Elections

In light of the start of a new membership cycle, the 105 ECA Ordinary Members elected a new Executive Board. Eleven Board Members were elected to join the four existing Board Members who represent ECA at the UEFA Professional Football Strategy Council (PFSC). The four PFSC members are Umberto Gandini (AC Milan), Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal FC), Sandro Rosell (FC Barcelona) and Evgeni Giner (PFC CSKA Moskva). Following the elections, the new Executive Board met for the first time to appoint the Chairman and the three Vice-Chairmen. The composition of the new ECA Executive Board for the 2013-15 membership cycle is as follows:

Mr. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge - FC Bayern München (GER)

1st Vice-Chairman
Mr. Umberto Gandini - AC Milan (ITA)

2nd Vice-Chairman
Mr. Sandro Rosell - FC Barcelona (SPA)
3rd Vice-Chairman
Mr. Evgeni Giner - PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS)

Mr. Ivan Gazidis - Arsenal FC (ENG)
Mr. Pedro López Jímenez - Real Madrid CF (SPA)
Mr. Andrea Agnelli - Juventus (ITA)
Mr. Jean-Michel Aulas - Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
Mr. Diogo Brandão - FC Porto (POR)
Mr. Theodore Giannikos - Olympiacos FC (GRE)
Mr. Edwin van der Sar - AFC Ajax (NED)
Mr. Michael Verschueren - RSC Anderlecht (BEL)
Mr. Jakub Otava - AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
Mr. Zoran Mamic - GNK Dinamo (CRO)
Mr. Aušrys Labinas - FK Ekranas (LTU)

Michele Centenaro was confirmed as ECA General Secretary.

Commenting on the elections, ECA Chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge said:

     "I am delighted to be elected for another 2-year term and re-appointed as chairman. We have achieved a lot in the past, but our mission is not over. With the support of all member clubs, the newly elected Executive Board will continue to work for the good of European football and ensure that the clubs' voice is heard."

Qatar 2022 World Cup

The European Club Association has duly taken note of recent discussions concerning a possible switch of the Qatar 2022 World Cup from summer to winter. ECA will discuss and elaborate with all European football stakeholders (national associations, leagues and players) a European position on the matter. Next week, a meeting of the UEFA Professional Football Strategy Council is scheduled and we believe it is the right platform to discuss the matter in detail.Such democratic consultation process is also the only way to tackle the issue at worldwide level. We are not in a hurry - the world cup takes place in 2022. We request FIFA to take the time for a proper, serious and exhaustive consultation with all stakeholders before making a decision that has to be the best for football.