31 clubs from Africa, North America, South America, Asia and Oceania participated in a successful ECA Workshop on club representation for non-European clubs. The workshop took place in the scope of the 10th ECA General Assembly in Doha, Qatar which at the same time marked the European Club Association's 5th anniversary.

For the first time, and in response to the positive feedback received from clubs around the world following ECA's achievements, ECA has decided to share its experience/knowledge with clubs from other confederations. The workshop entitled "The European model of club representation" included speeches and presentations by ECA Chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, ECA 1st Vice-Chairman Umberto Gandini and ECA 2nd Vice-Chairman Sandro Rosell.

The workshop was used to explain in more detail how ECA is organised and what the organisation has achieved since its creation in 2008. Furthermore, the participants were informed in detail about ECA's relationship with the governing bodies UEFA and FIFA. Special emphasis was given to the new Memorandum of Understanding signed between ECA and UEFA in 2012, incl. topics like insurance, international calendar and good governance. Discussions during the workshop proved very lively, underlining the great interest shown by all workshop participants.

Following the workshop all representatives present agreed that clubs around the world should continue to work together in order to strengthen their relationship. ECA offered its support to all clubs worldwide for any questions they may have in relation to club representation on a continental level. Future gatherings will be organised, allowing further exchange between the most prestigious clubs around the world.

The workshop was attended by the following non-European clubs:

JS Kabylie (Algeria), CA Boca Juniors, CA Velez Sarsfield, Club Estudiantes de La Plata (all Argentina), Adelaide United FC (Australia), Fluminense FC, SC Corinthians Paulista, Santos FC (all Brazil), Coton Sport FC de Garoua (Cameroon), Toronto FC (Canada), Club Social y Deportivo Colo-Colo (Chile), Al-Ahly SC, Zamalek SC (both Egypt), AD Isidro Metapán (El Salvador), CD Marathón (Honduras), ASEC Mimosas (Côte d?Ivoire), Gamba Osaka, Kashima Antlers FC (both Japan), Club Santos Laguna (Mexico), Auckland City FC (New Zealand), Al Kharaitiyat SC, Al Rayyan Club, Al-Sailiya SC, El Jaish Sport Club, Umm Slal SC (all Qatar), Al-Hilal FC, Ittihad FC (both Saudi Arabia), CA Peñarol (Uruguay), FC Bunyodkor, FC Pakhtakor (both Uzbekistan) and Caracas FC (Venezuela).