ECA News

The 19th ECA General Assembly in Geneva saw the appointment of new Chairmen to the five ECA Working Groups.

The five different working groups deal with the following topics: Competitions, Finance, Institutional Relations, Marketing & Communication, Youth.

ECA Working Groups are an essential cornerstone of ECA's organisational structure.They bring together experts in in their respective areas of the European club football industry to advise and support the ECA Executive Board and ECA representatives in committees at UEFA, FIFA and EU level. As well as providing important strategic advice, they encourage engagement of members across the organisation.

The Chairmen of each of the respective working groups were appointed by the ECA Executive Board. For the 2017-19 ECA Membership Cycle, the five ECA Working Groups will be chaired by the following:

Competitions Working Group:
Umberto Gandini (AS Roma)

Finance Working Group: 
Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht)

Institutional Relations Working Group:
Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal FC)

Marketing & Communications Working Group:
Aurelio De Laurentiis (SSC Napoli)

Youth Working Group:
Edwin van der Sar (AFC Ajax)

The Board also re-confirmed Jean-Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyonnais) as Chairman of the Women's Football Committee. 

The composition of each Working Group will be decided upon at the next ECA Executive Board meeting on 2nd October 2017 upon receipt of all membership applications. The first ECA Working Group meetings are expected to take place before the end of the year.