ECA Media Release

  • Andrea Agnelli reelected ECA Chairman by the Executive Board
  • 24-full member Executive Board elected for the 2019-23 membership cycle
  • ECA members continue consultation on the future of UEFA Club Competitions

On 9 and 10 September 2019, representatives from 169 ECA Member Clubs gathered in Geneva for the 23rd ECA General Assembly.

ECA Member Clubs met to elect a new ECA Executive Board and define the strategic priorities for the 2019-23 ECA Membership Cycle, as well as discuss the future of UEFA Club Competitions post 2024 (UCCs).

ECA Executive Board Elections

With the start of the 2019-23 ECA Membership Cycle, ECA Members elected a new Executive Board.

Following changes to ECA’s governance structure, the Executive Board has been expanded from 15 to 24 full members, with increased representation across all four subdivisions. This decision was taken by the Special General Assembly in June to ensure that the organisation continues to properly represent clubs of all sizes across its membership in an efficient and effective manner.

13 Board Members were elected and will be joined by the two ECA representatives on the UEFA Executive Committee - Andrea Agnelli (Juventus), Nasser Al-Khelaifi (Paris Saint-Germain FC) - the four ECA representatives on the UEFA Professional Football Strategy Council - Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid CF), Raúl Sanllehí (Arsenal FC), Edwin van der Sar (AFC Ajax), Peter Lawwell (Celtic FC) – and the five ECA representatives on the Board of Administration of the UEFA Club Competitions SA – Ed Woodward (Manchester United FC), Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona), Michael Gerlinger (Bayern München), Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht), Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA) – (see Annex for full list of Board Members).

Following the elections, the new Executive Board met for the first time to elect the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen. Andrea Agnelli (Juventus), was unanimously reelected ECA Chairman for the four-year membership cycle. In addition, Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid CF), Edwin van der Sar (AFC Ajax), Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA) and Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki) were unanimously reelected ECA Vice-Chairmen, representing all four Subdivisions.

Following his reelection, Andrea Agnelli stated:                                    

“I am honoured to have been reelected to lead this organisation over the next four years and would like to place on record my strong appreciation to my fellow Board members for the trust they have placed in me. The coming years will be key as we look to reach decisions to ensure the long-term viability and well-being of the game in Europe. I believe ECA is in a strong position to meet this challenge with the mix of club leaders that will sit beside me on the Executive Board and look forward to the months ahead as we continue our work in shaping club football.”

Moreover, the Executive Board appointed 16 ECA representatives to the UEFA Club Competitions Committee (see Annex for full list of appointees), which will be submitted to UEFA.

UEFA Club Competitions post 2024

ECA Members received detailed feedback on the first phase of the internal consultation carried out throughout the summer. Commenting on the reform process, ECA Chairman Andrea Agnelli stated:

“The last few months have seen ECA engage in a very detailed and thorough consultation process which has allowed members to share their views and opinions on what reform of UCCs should look like.

The overall feedback clearly states that reform is needed and that more European matches are essential for the development of football as a whole.

We will now enter the second phase of our consultation, which will look to develop a more concrete ECA vision for the future of UCCs.”



ECA Executive Board, 2019-23 ECA Membership Cycle

Chairman: Andrea Agnelli (Juventus)

Vice-Chairman: Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid CF)

Vice-Chairman: Edwin van der Sar (AFC Ajax)

Vice-Chairman: Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA)

Vice-Chairman: Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

Board Member: Nasser Al-Khelaifi (Paris Saint-Germain FC)

Board Member: Ed Woodward (Manchester United FC)

Board Member: Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona)

Board Member: Michael Gerlinger (Bayern München)

Board Member: Raúl Sanllehí (Arsenal FC)

Board Member: Miguel Gil (Club Atlético de Madrid)

Board Member: Peter Moore (Liverpool FC)

Board Member: Hans-Joachim Watzke (Borussia Dortmund)

Board Member: Steven Zhang (FC Internazionale Milano)

Board Member: Jean-Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyonnais)

Board Member: Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht)

Board Member: Miguel Moreira (SL Benfica)

Board Member: Daniel Rommedahl (FC København)

Board Member: Ali Koç (Fenerbahçe SK)

Board Member: Peter Lawwell (Celtic FC)

Board Member: Amra Peternel (GNK Dinamo Zagreb)

Board Member: Stefan Pantović (FK Crvena Zvezda)

Board Member: Wanja Greuel (BSC Young Boys)

Board Member: Kuno Tehva (Nõmme Kalju FC)

Subdivision Representative (Observer): Alexander Medvedev (FC Zenit St. Petersburg)

Subdivision Representative (Observer): Raphael Landthaler (SK Rapid Wien)

Subdivision Representative (Observer): Niclas Carlnén (Malmö FF)

Subdivision Representative (Observer): Vidar Halldorsson (FH Hafnarfjörður)


ECA Representatives on the UEFA Club Competitions Committee, 2019-23

Fernando Carro (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)

Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona)

Ed Woodward (Manchester United FC)

Ferran Soriano (Manchester City FC)

Ivan Gazidis (AC Milan)

Aurelio De Laurentiis (SSC Napoli)

Jacques-Henri Eyraud (Olympique de Marseille)

Alexander Medvedev (FC Zenit St. Petersburg)

Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht)

Peter Fossen (PSV Eindhoven)

Raphael Landthaler (SK Rapid Wien)

Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA)

Niclas Carlnén (Malmö FF)

Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

Kuno Tehva (Nõmme Kalju FC)

Vidar Halldorsson (FH Hafnarfjörður)