As football's world governing body FIFA makes a series of decisions directly affecting the day-to-day business of clubs, it has become essential for ECA to be represented in FIFA bodies to make the clubs' voice heard. FIFA decisions surrounding club football include transfer matters, the international match calendar, insurance issues, and the FIFA Club World Cup. ECA representatives sit on the following bodies at FIFA:


The Football Stakeholders Committee advises and assists the FIFA Council on all matters relating to football, particularly the structure of the game, as well as on all technical matters. The committee also deals with the relationship between clubs, players, leagues, member associations, confederations and FIFA, as well as with issues relating to the interests of club football worldwide.

ECA Representation:

  • Pedro López Jiménez | Real Madrid CF (ESP)
  • Ivan Gazidis | AC Milan (ITA)
  • Edwin van der Sar | AFC Ajax (NED)
  • Umberto Gandini
  • Michele Centenaro | ECA

FIFA Players' Status Committee

The Players' Status Committee (PSC) sets up and monitors compliance with the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players and determines the status of Players for various FIFA competitions. Its powers of jurisdiction are governed by the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players.

ECA Representation:

  • José María Cruz | Sevilla FC (ESP)
  • Vitus Derungs | Grasshopper-Club Zurich (SUI)
  • José Luis Andrade | ECA

FIFA Dispute Resolution Chamber

The Dispute Resolution Chamber (DRC) is FIFA's deciding body that provides arbitration and dispute resolution on the basis of equal representation of players and clubs and an independent chairman. The DRC adjudicates on a regular basis in the presence of a varying composition of members. In total, the DRC includes 12 player representatives and 12 club representatives whereas decisions are regularly passed in a composition of 5 (2 player representatives, 2 club representatives, 1 chairman).

ECA Representation:

  • Pavel Pivovarov | FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)
  • José Luis Andrade | ECA
  • Daan de Jong | ECA